Pontypridd Lido, Wales

Pontypridd Lido, Wales

Ponty Lido was originally built in 1927 in a style that was typical of its time, bringing a strong Mediterranean mood to the South Wales Valleys.

Paid for out of the Miners’ Welfare Fund, it was one of the most iconic open-air lidos in the UK. The local miners contributed a proportion of their wage into a communal fund to pay for the pool’s construction.

The miners paid for it, they worked for it, and their families swam in it.

Long before he found fame and fortune, Pontypridd’s very-own Sir Tom Jones was a regular visitor to the Lido.

The Grade II listed site closed in 1991, but was reopened in September 2015 following a major restoration project costing £6.3million.


Leave a Reply